Get Real

‘The Media Does Not Cause Eating Disorders’

A.Kirby, 2008

I think the sarcasm in this goes without saying.

Your looking at what’s become a permanent fixture on my bedroom wall.

3 years ago, when I first made it, I think it was an attempt to cope with & accept the reality I was facing.

Today, its a reminder of the manipulative, misleading messages in the media that continue to permeate into our society.

It’s unavoidable.  And while I’d love to knock some sense into the advertisieng industry and sway them into spending their billions of dollars on something else… chances are it’s not going to happen.

So Let’s  Get Real.

  1. Recognize – the messages which have a negative  impact on body image
  2. Reflect – by actively identifying why it is misleading
  3. Rationalize – Compare real vs. fake
  4. Repel –  using the power & acceptance of reality

Are the media’s messages brainwashing us?

I want to hear what you have to say.

